Cafe of India, Tenleytown, Washington, DC

One recent morning I was having coffee with the Morning Starbucks Colloquium and someone mentioned the Cafe of India at 4909 Wisconsin in Tenleytown, right next to Le Chat Noir. Adrian and Naomi Tschoegl mentioned that they’d driven by often but never gone there. Then the rest of us reported the same experience, and we all decided with our usual decisiveness that someone should go sometime and report back.

Duty called rather sooner than I expected. It turned out that we were to watch Ella and Lily that very night while Liza and Michael were at a charity event. Through the Rube Goldberg confusion of events that mark so much of my life, I wound up without a supper plan. Inspired, I turned to Cafe of India. I called and ordered Lamb and Potato Vindaloo ($20) and naan ($3), and went to pick it up while Ella and Lily were preparing for bed. I returned in time to read bedtime stories about Newt to Lily and listen while Ella read Junie B. Jones to me. At last I made it back down to start my dinner.

These were not ideal dining circumstances for trying the food. It already was at the counter when I arrived to pick it up, and it sat around during bedtime stories and God Blesses. I suppose I could have warmed it up, but I was beyond ready to eat. Instead, I unpacked it and set it on the table — naan, rice, and vindaloo.

The rice contained some caraway seed, a nice touch. You can see one off to the side below, after I’d plated a portion of the rice and vindaloo.

Th vindaloo was delicious. The dish’s most notable characteristic, of course, is the heat, and heat was there aplenty. It also had plenty of that layered flavor and subtlety that so marks Indian cuisine. The lamb came in largish chunks tender enough to be cut with a fork, and the potatoes had not been overcooked. This is a fine dish.

The naan had cooled off, but still had a good flavor, and still s effective at its key role when served with vindaloo, stanching the flow of fire in one’s mouth. (Liquids just spread it around. Starches tame the heat.).

The naan retained a good flavor, and proved effective at sopping up every bit of the vindaloo.

I’m glad my co-caffeineists had mentioned the Cafe of India, and that I had a chance to get there so soon. I’m sure I’ll return soon, and I happily recommend it to you. Let me know how you like it.

***

And while you’re at it, click “follow” on our front page to receive blog posts in your email box. Or bookmark us and check in from time to time. We’re on Instagram (johntannerbbq) and Twitter (johntannerbbq1) pages, and if you’re planning a trip, you can “Search” the name of the destination city, state, or country for good restaurants (in Europe, often close to sites, like the LouvrePrague CastleVienna’s Old City, or the Van Gogh Museum, that you’ll want to visit in any event.  We welcome comments and questions, and eagerly seek suggestions of places to eat and stories to cover.

8 thoughts on “Cafe of India, Tenleytown, Washington, DC

  1. I went there recently with a group of four women friends for dinner and I found it “meh”. Everything tasted the same to me. I find that the case with most of the Indian restaurants here in DC. Masala Art is a step above and so is Bombay Bistro up in Rockville related to the now closed Indique. Indique is supposed to reopen under the management of one of former employees, I think.
    My sister and I were just in Santa Fe and she was telling me about hungryonion.org. I clicked on the regional information for that area and your old posting came up immediately! We ate well but expensively there at two James Beard nominee restaurants plus at La Choza. We were there to see an exhibit of paintings by one my mother’s best friend’s. They are all dead now so there is hardly anyone to share the excitement with. The prices were astounding and much more than the artist got in her lifetime (tens of thousands).
    I do want to take Gregory to one of the BBQ restaurants you reviewed in Loudoun County. I still haven’t had him try ‘real’ BBQ.
    Janet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always enjoy your posts. Hope you don’t mind my pointing out a typo – you meant to write Chat Noir – nor Char.

    Regards, Diana

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My favorite restaurant. You need to dine in. Food is always delicious and staff are great. 

    <

    div>

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment