Little Miss BBQ, Phoenix, Arizona

After lunch at Zinqué Nancy, Kit, and I walked around the Scottsdale art gallery area for a while, and then decided to head back to Canyon Villas. The plan was to forage for dinner and eat up some of the cheeses and dips we’d purchased. I indicated that I thought I’d mosey over to Little Miss BBQ and do some foraging there. Why not swing by on the way back? I took the precaution of making certain that they hadn’t sold out of brisket, and then off we went to their Sunnyslope location at 8901 North 7th Street.

Little Miss BBQ is on all the “Best” lists, or at least those that keep up to date. Do you want to know why? Reasons to get on Best lists vary — reputation, balancing geography, etc. Not to give away the ending, but in the case of Little Miss BBQ, it’s on the lists because they cook superb barbecue.

We arrived in mid-afternoon, around 3:30 pm or so, parked over in a large shared parking lot, and I went in to order, right behind that guy.

There’s a right turn there, and you get an inspiring view of a great big cooker

and the menu, with prices that are gentler than Washington and Austin.

I stepped up to the counter and before I said a word I was offered a taste of brisket.

I’m very polite, so I accepted. Wow! The meat was succulent, smoky, and achingly tender. It figuratively melted in my mouth. This could — could — be the very best brisket outside Texas.

I pulled myself together and ordered a half pound of turkey for Nancy and Kit, and half a pound of brisket for me. Oh, and one pork rib. As an afterthought, or perhaps as brain stem activity, I ordered a jalapeño cheese sausage, sliced. Why sliced? So I could have a slice before I returned to the car, and another bite of the brisket. Then I waddled out to the car and drove back to Canyon Villas.

Here’s the food after the drive.

Well, there it is minus another taste of brisket. The brisket held up very well after the drive, and remained moist, tender, and full of the flavors of beef and oak smoke, along with a peppery crust. This is so good they could set up shop next door to Aaron Franklin’s and make money.

Nancy and Kit were less ready for a meal so soon after lunch than I, but seemed to enjoy the turkey. Nancy commented that it was not at all dry and not super smoky, which means they used oak rather than hickory. I enjoyed the rib. It was meaty and the pork captured the flavor of the oak. This is a very good pork rib by Texas-style standards, but it’s no threat to Archibald’s. The jalapeño cheese sausage had a medium grind and a quality snap. It was moderately spicy by jalapeño standards, with more flavor than heat.

I didn’t get any sauce. After that initial taste of brisket I knew it wouldn’t need any. Actually, if I thought I’d need some after tasting it, I would have walked out after getting a couple of ribs just to be polite. Brisket shouldn’t need sauces and this brisket didn’t need anything in the world.

Phoenix is twice blessed, with great brisket at Little Miss BBQ and excellent pork — perhaps the best west of Arkansas — at JL’s Smokehouse on Broadway. It and Little Miss BBQ is a blessing to the good people of Phoenix, and to all who visit that city. It’s a must-visit for anyone within a couple of hundred miles, and there are a lot of reasons to be in Phoenix, at least in the winter. You should go there, and don’t leave without trying some of that brisket.

***

And while you’re at it, click “follow” on our front page to receive blog posts in your email box.  Or bookmark us and check in from time to time, and follow us on our Instagram(johntannerbbq) and Twitter (johntannerbbq1) pages,.  If you’re planning a trip, you can “Search” the name of the destination city, state, or country for good restaurants (in Europe, often close to sites, like the LouvrePrague CastleVienna’s Old City, or the Van Gogh Museum, that you’ll want to visit in any event.  We welcome comments and questions, and eagerly seek suggestions of places to eat and stories to cover.

4 thoughts on “Little Miss BBQ, Phoenix, Arizona

  1. I unfortunately had a different experience at Little Miss. When I was in Phoenix just before our tour started in January, 2023, I went on my first morning, getting there before they opened. There were about 10 people in line, so it took a little while to get to the front. I don’t remember if I was offered the taste of brisket, but I remember ordering maybe 1/2 pound of fatty brisket, and a couple of sides. When I got my tray to the table I looked at it and looked at it and thought, “this is fatty brisket?” It was so incredibly dry. A very nice woman, possibly one of the owners, walked by and asked how everything was. I had eaten about half of one slice. I asked her if this was really the fatty and she looked at it and said no. She brought me back a plateful of fatty, and it was much, much better. But for some reason, and I really don’t know why, I still didn’t love it. I thought that would be it for me and Little Miss, but two days later, on the last free day before rehearsals started, I went back. I got there a little later, and there were only a couple of people in front of me. I specified fatty, telling the cutter what had happened two days earlier. I got the fatty, and enjoyed it, but it never really grabbed me like the brisket at Lewis. I think at Lewis I have never used a knife, and only occasionally a fork. It’s been pull-apart moist and tender every time.
    It’s not likely that I’ll be back in the area, but if I am, I would probably give them another try. It was an unfortunate experience for a place that had been so highly recommended.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I am so glad that you liked Little Miss. Toni and I were just blown away by it.

    We went to the other location, which I think is the original — they had two smokers which were at least twice the size of the one in your photo. We had the fatty brisket, the pulled pork, and the sausage, which were all wonderful, as good as I’ve ever had. The beef rib also looked wonderful, but for once we showed some self-restraint and didn’t order it.

    Little Miss was the first place I ever had smoked turkey that I thought was really good. We didn’t order any turkey, but these young men we’d been talking to in line gave us a slice of theirs.

    We also had the smoked pecan pie, which must not have been memorable, since I don’t remember it.

    Like

Leave a comment