Hershel’s East Side Deli, Reading Terminal, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

As you recall from our last exciting Reading Terminal episode, I was finishing an outstanding pork and broccoli rabe at DiNic’s while sharing a table with Nancy and a guy from Panama City Beach, Florida, by way of Cleveland who was in town to see his son, see Dave Chappelle at the Roots Picnic, and eat a corned beef and pastrami sandwich from Hershel’s. Scott and Julie Hammons had both recommended the pastrami at Hershel’s, and I’d heard from BZMaestroEats, aka Barry Zuckerman, that not only does Hershel’s have great pastrami, but — inside off-menu tip — you can buy a half sandwich. Those obviously are Signs, but there’s more! Nancy mentioned that I’d just been writing about the pastrami situation in DC. And there I was, sitting at a table looking directly at Hershel’s.

You don’t need to hit me over the head with a two by four to get my attention. Nancy was off scouting the Market, so I left my debris, my Wilber’s BBQ hat, and my new friend at the table, loosened my belt, and waddled over to the counter at Hershel’s.

Oh my! After briefly considering getting a full sandwich even after my roast pork, I ordered the half sandwich ($9), pastrami on rye with mustard.

I was about to pick it up for a full side view until I noticed Nancy, who had returned briefly and was picking at some overflow pieces, so I let it lie to avoid losing more bits and pieces. 

Sigh. So lovely, and so fragrant. You’ll notice that it’s thick cut. It’s also a generous, hefty sandwich, much moreso than it looks from this angle. The meat is thoughtfully seasoned, and as tender as you’ll find anywhere. The bread is a classic Jewish rye, just right for a pastrami sandwich, and the meat/fat ratio is on point.

Some people like to scrutinize and find fault with dishes. I prefer to be positive and enjoy the food I eat. I do, however, like to offer constructive criticism, to find a specific way to make the dish better. For Hershel’s pastrami on rye with mustard, I’m at a loss. This is the pastrami of my youth, the pastrami that drew me in to Kosher-style food. It’s hard to find now in the Washington area. The best pastrami there comes from barbecue places, like Silver and Sons, where it’s served on … challah or, worse, Texas Toast.

The Reading Terminal is a cornucopia of great things to eat, and I’d love to get back soon. You should go. There’ll be so much that you’ll love. We were well advised (thanks, Barry) to go early, by 11:00, and Friday was probably a much better day for the trip than Saturday. We didn’t face any major lines, but by 11:30 the lines had become daunting. The food would have been well worth the wait, at least for one sandwich. But at the Reading Terminal you’re going to want to get two, at least. Go early, and go to DiNic’s and Hershel’s.

***

And while you’re at it, click “follow” on our front page to receive blog posts in your email box.  Or bookmark us and check in from time to time.  If you’re planning a trip, you can “Search” the name of the destination city, state, or country for good restaurants (in Europe, often close to sites, like the Louvre or the Van Gogh Museum, that you’ll want to visit in any event).  Comments, questions, and suggestions of places to eat or stories to cover are very welcome.  And check our Instagram and Twitter pages, johntannerbbq.

3 thoughts on “Hershel’s East Side Deli, Reading Terminal, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

  1. Wonderful report! I was so thrilled when Hershel’s opened, perhaps 15 or so years ago. A good Jewish deli was the one thing the Reading Terminal had been missing. They fit the bill perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment