The Best Barbecue Places in the Washington, DC, Area, 2023

The barbecue scene in the Washington area is exploding! When I first started this Blog, Washington was a virtual barbecue desert. Now, the desert is blooming. New places spring up wherever high rents will permit, and now and then I uncover a hidden gem in the far reaches of once-rural suburbs and beyond. I meant to post the list months ago, but I kept hearing of places I must try. I’m caught up for now — and I hope for more must try places for the 2024 list.

My task is a whole lot more complicated than you would think. First, there are all sorts of definitions of the “Washington area.” My definition is “within 50 or so road miles from my house,” a 103-year-old duplex in the poor section of Chevy Chase, DC, that’s acting its age.

Once again, I list the top places in alphabetical order. Simple enough, except for 2fifty, the sensational barbecue place in Riverdale Park. How do you treat the numeral — first, before A, last after Z, or as if it were spelled out — Two. I’m in DC and so ignore the problem and just put them down however.

And again I list the best places for each of the meats separately. Last year, I limited each barbecue place to one meat, but this year I’m giving credit for more than one meat. As a result, some places appear more than once.

I also have expanded the list to include lamb, pastrami, and pit beef when they are smoked low and slow like barbecue. What other area places that smoke these meats low and slow, or other meats, say, smoked gator? I’d love to hear from you.

As always, there are places on the cusp. I’ve agonized, well, fretted over some choices. I welcome your responses telling me what an idiot I am, et cetera. (No naughty words, please.) I’m especially eager to find more good places of which I was completely unaware.

Here they are, each with a link that will tell you why I chose it. Note that I’ve posted multiple reviews of some, and you’ll see links to earlier or subsequent reviews.

Brisket

2fifty Texas, Riverdale Park, MD

Ruthie’s All Day, Arlington, VA

Sloppy Mama’s, Arlington, VA

Pork

Allman’s Bar-B-Que, Fredericksburg, VA

Big Bad W, Stafford, VA

Chad’s BBQ, Edgewater, MD

Federalist Pig’s Fedmobile, Hyattsville, MD

Odd BBQ, Chantilly, VA

Sloppy Mama’s, Arlington, VA

The Pit Stop, Sterling and Aldie, VA

2fifty Texas, Riverdale Park, MD

Ribs

The Pit Stop, Sterling and Aldie, VA

Randy’s Ribs in Hughesville, MD

Smokehouse BBQ Shack in Mechanicsville, MD

Smoker’s Delight in White Plains, Maryland

T&J Bar-B-Que, Second Generation in La Plata, MD

An honorable mention goes to Uncle D’s Grill in Lexington Park, MD, which is beyond the 50-mile limit but is really good.

Lamb

2fifty Texas, Riverdale Park, MD

Silver and Sons, Montgomery County, MD

Pastrami

Silver and Sons, Montgomery County, MD

2fifty Texas, Riverdale Park, MD

Pit Beef

Smokehouse BBQ Shack, Mechanicsville, MD

There you have them. Again, I welcome comments, especially substantive comments about why you like or dislike specific places. Actually, I especially welcome places that I haven’t reviewed (search the name) that you think are better, or at which something major has happened since my review that warrants a fresh look. Enjoy!

***

And while you’re at it, click “follow” on our front page to receive blog posts in your email box.  Or bookmark us and check in from time to time.  If you’re planning a trip, you can “Search” the name of the destination city, state, or country for good restaurants (in Europe, often close to sites, like the Louvre or the Van Gogh Museum, that you’ll want to visit in any event).  Comments, questions, and suggestions of places to eat or stories to cover are very welcome.  And check our Instagram and Twitter pages, johntannerbbq.

Leave a comment